CUPE welcomes new health authority board appointments

Today’s announcement by the BC NDP Government that four new chairs and 11 new members have been appointed to provincial health authorities’ boards of directors is an encouraging development for health care in British Columbia.

Dr. Doug Cochrane, Leah Hollins, Colleen Nyce and former BC Federation of Labour president Jim Sinclair have been appointed as new board chairs for Interior Health, Island Health, Northern Health and Fraser Health, respectively. They join Tim Manning of Provincial Health Services Authority and Kip Woodward of Vancouver Coastal Health as board chairs of British Columbia’s six health authorities.

“The new and existing board chairs share a long history of public service, community work, and experience in the private sector, labour, health care and research,” Health Minister Adrian Dix said in a government release. “Our goal as a government is to provide leadership for a strong, innovative and responsive public health-care system, and we are confident that these appointments will support this goal.”

In addition to the new board chairs, Willie Charlie and Opreet Kang have been named as board members for Fraser Health; Selena Lawrie and Cindy Stewart have been named board members for Interior Health; Ron Mattson has been named as a board member for Island Health; Frank Everitt has been named as a board member for Northern Health; Sherry Ogasawara and Gary Pooni have been named as board members for Provincial Health Services Authority; and Wendy Au, Dr. Margaret McGregor and Vi Nguyen have been named as board members for Vancouver Coastal Health.

For the full release, visit: