CUPE holds successful 2024 Health Sector Bargaining Conference

CUPE held its health sector bargaining conference on May 22, 2024, where delegates from all five locals with healthcare members elected Bargaining Representatives. The following members have been elected:

Andy Healey, Bargaining Representative
Dylan Webb, Bargaining Representative
Bobby Burges, Alternate Bargaining Representative

Brian Moore, Bargaining Representative
Sarah Walker, Bargaining Representative
Brent Nixon, Alternative Bargaining Representative

Delegates heard presentations from the BC Health Coalition, Canadian Drug Policy Coalition, CUPE BC Secretary-Treasurer Trevor Davies and CUPE Regional Director Martina Boyd. CUPE Researcher Stephen Elliott-Buckley reviewed the 2024 Bargaining Survey, and then delegates reviewed the survey results specific to their Collective Agreement.

Based on the survey results and discussions in their groups, priorities were identified, and those will be developed into bargaining proposals over the coming months.

Members covered by the Nurses Bargaining Association Collective Agreement will meet later in the year to discuss priorities for the next round of bargaining.

There will be further updates as we get closer to the expiry of the current collective agreements.

We thank all delegates for their participation and congratulate the members who have been elected as Bargaining Representatives.

In solidarity,

Andrew Ledger
Health Sector Coordinator